A Cup of Coffee With Sarah Hinds…

We are starting an annual series called “A Cup of Coffee With...” In this blog post, I will be introducing and briefly interviewing our newest staff members.  We have three new teachers joining HTS this year: Sarah Hinds will be teaching fourth grade; Jessica Lydeka will be teaching second grade and Kevin McPeek is our new Phys. Ed. teacher.  In this issue we meet Ms. Hinds.

Why did you select education/teaching as a career?

I have always had a love for teaching, learning, and children. Throughout my own education, I admired and was influenced by many of my former teachers, quite a few of them here at Harding.  I’m honored and excited to be teaching in the former classroom of one of those teachers, my second grade teacher Mrs. Brown.

What was your favorite subject when you were in school?

My favorite subject throughout my schooling was math. I have been teaching math for many years now at the intermediate grade levels and I’m excited to continue to make children excited about learning math.  

What is your educational philosophy?

My educational philosophy is that all children have the ability to learn and it is my role as a teacher to create a safe learning environment that promotes self-confidence and individuality, while meeting the unique and individual needs of my students. I also believe that academic success begins and finishes with the development of individual relationships.

Finish this sentence. When my students come to my class on the first day of school…

they will feel welcomed and know they are in a safe and friendly classroom. They’ll know I’m so excited to get to know them and be their teacher this year!

Can you share one special talent or interest that you may have?

As a child I was a competitive gymnast and I still have a strong passion for the sport of gymnastics.   When I was no longer competing, I coached gymnastics to children of all ages during my high school and college years.

Bonus question: What is your favorite book for students in fourth grade?

Although it is not a 4th grade level book, Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister is by far my favorite picture book to read to children of any age. It teaches them the value of sharing, generosity, and caring for people because of who they are.

Sincerely,
Alex Anemone
 
Leave a Reply

